top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Confessions and fitness update

While I was big on carrot juices and oranges at the end of this winter, I have now fallen back on toast and egg. You'd be surprised what that combo of brown multigrain crispy bread and an egg fried in olive oil can do for my mood especially during exam time. Moreover it is the simplest snack/meal you can have when you don't have time to do meal prep or go grocery shopping. Here's the thing, I don't think I've managed to keep up with my fitness goals for a the beginning of this year.

While I would've loved to come on here and talk about the benefits of seeds (which I will because girl have you heard what omega-3 fatty acids do for you?) , I know before I do any meal talk or exercise talk, it's confession time. Each confession does have a positive aspect to it though so I don't necessarily have to feel like I've fallen off the wagon entirely. I'm hanging on or rather hanging off...barely grabbing on.

1. I confess I haven't been to the gym in 3 months but I do yoga about 2-3 times a week.

2. I confess I gave up on my daily warm water with lemon or apple cider vinegar morning ritual but I keep hydrated for the most part and occasionally have apple cider vinegar to stay fresh through the mornings.

3. I confess I may have been turning to comfort food on bad days...and sometimes good days. This prevents breakdowns. (Terrible justification I know)

4. I confess I've gained about 5 kilos (not muscle mass I assure you and so does the chocolate chip cookie boxes I have been having) . While weight is a slight concern for someone whose skinny jeans fit her just right, it's my muscle tone that bothers me more. This make me look so forward to HIIT and weight training as soon as exams end though.

There you have it. Accountability as they call it.

I needed to move forward with this website feeling like I could actually write on here about my struggle, learning and process as I hopefully achieve my fitness goals and keep making new ones. I'd like to remind myself and others, it's completely alright to go back a step or two. I've experienced it with myself and others that we tend complain of and regret our decisions about falling back on our promises to ourselves, that summer body or for that 20k marathon. It's just not in my best interest to complain.

Yes, Once I'm back at the gym, I will probably be out of breath after my first step in there and i'll start sobbing and cussing at myself for ever letting go ( slight over exaggeration there since i'm pretty sure I could still run a km) and I will need to train for a month to get back my stamina to where it was and run a 5-10k. Its simply just about accepting that and moving forward from there. I know it can be difficult to start over or get back into the flow of daily workouts. You just need to give yourself space to self-reflect, make mistakes and improve on your habits because that's called believing in the process rather than the goals.

YES, Goals matter. YES, the process matters more. That's where you learn what works best for you.

Fun fact: Green tea consist of polyphenols, also known as antidioxidants, which help prevent inflammation and relieve oxidative stress. Oxidative stress of the tissues/organs is caused by an imbalance between the production of free radicals ( a byproduct of oxygen metabolism) by the body and its ability to counter act its affects with the help of vitamins, minerals and antidioxidants.

I hope to get back on here next time with some progress.

Have a cuppa

Sarah x

There


bottom of page